David Wiley Travel Awards

Description: The two David Wiley Travel awards were established by the Association of African Studies Programs of the United States at its annual meeting in Washington, D.C., to honor David Wiley’s contribution to the association. The annual awards, of no more than $500 each, are designed to encourage and support new members to attend AASP’s annual Spring meeting.

Eligibility: Any Dean, Director, Chairperson, Committee Head, Coordinator, or individual who is responsible for organizing or leading an African Studies program at his or her college or university not currently a member of AASP and who has not attended an AASP spring meeting in the last two years is eligible to apply.

How to apply: Submissions should include: (1) a current CV; (2) a brief description of the following: (a) type of institution (for example, 4 year, 2 year, public, private, HBCU, non-profit, other (specify) institution (list all that apply); (b) the state of African Studies on applicant’s campus; (c) applicant’s current and or expected involvement with his or her institution’s African Studies program; (d) brief description of how beneficial applicant’s participation at the spring meeting of AASP will be to home institution; (3) estimate of costs of attending.

Application deadline: Please submit your travel award request by March 22, 2018 to AASP Chair Wheeler Winstead at wheeler.r.winstead@howard.edu with the subject “David Wiley Travel Awards.”

Award Notification and reimbursement: A committee of three AASP members, including the former chair, will review the applications and select recipients. Awards recipients will be notified by April 1, 2018 and award checks will be distributed at the AASP Spring meeting. Failure to attend the spring meeting will forfeit any winner’s claim to the award.

Who is David Wiley?
David Wiley was one of the founders of the Association of African Studies Programs and has actively participated in AASP policy making and planning. He initiated many of the organization’s policies of inclusion and has consistently worked to encourage participation in the organization by Africanists from institutions with small African studies programs. He served as the director of the Michigan State African Studies Center for many years and before that he was the African Studies Center director at the University of Wisconsin. He has also served as the president of the African Studies Association and as the co-chairperson of the Council of Directors of Title VI National Resource Centers. He is an active scholar in the field of sociology and has conducted extensive research in Zambia, Zimbabwe, and South Africa. He is the author of Southern Africa: Society, Economy and Liberation (with Allen Isaacman), Group Portrait: International Education in the Academic Disciplines (with S. Groennings), The Third World: Africa (with M. Crofts), Africa on Film and Videotape, African Language Instruction in the United States: Directions and Priorities for the 1980s (with D. Dwyer), and Academic Analysis and U.S. Foreign Policy-Making on Africa (with M. Bratton and L. Bowman). His Ph.D. in sociology is from Princeton University. He also holds a Master of Divinity degree from Yale University.